Lights, Camera, Inaction

Hello again out there in cyberspace.  I haven’t done a whole lot of pitching since my last entry so I’m just going to roll the tape forward to a topic that I actually want to right about: The Oscars.  Ok so I realize that these were a while ago, but I finished watching all of the best picture nominees yesterday and I am still fairly flabbergasted that Slumdog Millionaire won best picture.  I thought that it was a great picture and Dev Patel was outstanding, I just don’t have it being one of the top five films of the year let alone the best.  This year was certainly a bit different from years past in that there were a lot of very good movies to choose from but none that were, in my opinion, surpassingly good so the Academy basically tried not to make the obvious pick.  They couldn’t pick Milk because they’d given a best picture statue to a movie with a gay main character less than a handful of years ago, The Dark Knight was too popular, The Curious  Case of Benjamin Button was the early front runner, The Wrestler was too offbeat, etc, etc.  Again, Slumdog was a very good movie but seven Oscars for a movie that to me wasn’t a top five movie on the year is pretty ridiculous.  Here’s how I had the top ten movies of 2008, keeping in mind that there are some fairly notable movies that I have yet to see (Gran Torino, Revolutionary Road, Waltz with Bashir, Departures, Last Chance Harvey).

 

1. Milk

2. The Dark Knight

3. The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

4. The Wrestler

5. Doubt

6. Slumdog Millionaire

7. Frost/Nixon

8. Vicky Cristina Barcelona

9. Forgetting Sarah Marshall

10. Encounters at the End of The World

 

Most of these are fairly well known movies or movies that did very well at the box office, but there are a couple hidden gems mixed in as well.  Vicky Cristina Barcelona stars Javier Bardem (of No Country for Old Men fame), Scarlett Johansson and Penelope Cruz as well as being directed by Woody Allen.  It is a hilarious movie and a must see.  Encounters is a documentary about the sights, sounds and people living at the South Pole as part of the National Science Foundation’s research efforts there.  It sounds rather dry but it is very well filmed and is actually quite engaging and enjoyable.  Well, I’ll call that good for now so I can settle in and do some reading but I’ll be sure to check in from our upcoming road trip.  Until next time.

3 comments

  1. juliasrants

    I find it odd how movies end up winning the Best Picture Oscars. When you look at Sci-Fi/Fantasy movies (the original three Star Wars movies, the Lord of the Rings Trilogy) those movies never win Oscars – it’s like that voters don’t consider that genre worthy. I didn’t see Slumdog, so I can’t comment it’s worthiness, but the Academy seems to like these “feel good” movies that they can pat themselves on the back about. I wasn’t familiar with “Encounters”, but I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for the heads up!

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

