Seeing the Sights

Hello again out there in cyberspace.  Sorry for the ten day or so intermission, but I’ve had my girlfriend in town for the past six days so my priorities were temporarily shifted to the real world.  The last ten days have been a bit of a mixed bag on the field for us here in Akron.  After capping off a losing series against Reading with a loss, we traveled to Erie and promptly lost all four games there to drop to 0-8 at Jerry Uht Field this year.  I had an outing to forget in game two of the series, coming in with two men on base only to surrender two flare singles followed by a home run that provided the final margin.  I bounced back with a good outing to end the series, however, throwing an efficient inning plus to get some momentum going for myself.  After a much needed break we resumed against Bowie and after a series opening loss bounced back for three straight wins to give us a desperately needed victory in the series.  I had two good outings, commanding my pitches and avoiding walks, which has been a bit of an Achilles heel for me throughout the season.

 

During our aforementioned all-star break, I finally got a chance to see a few of the sights around Akron and Cleveland that I’ve wanted to take in but hadn’t had an opportunity to until now.  On Tuesday I took in Stan Hywet Hall, the manor home of Goodyear Tire and Rubber founder Franklin Seiberling.  The grounds alone would have been worth the price of admission, but the house itself was pretty amazing.  Ornate wood work, secret passage ways and fabulous architectural design (among other things) made for a thoroughly enjoyable experience and one I would recommend if you ever find yourself with time to kill in Akron.  As much fun as Stan Hywet Hall was, the real excitement of the week was the Cleveland Museum of Art.  Any disappointment in my experience at the Akron Art Museum was more than recompensed by my time spent wandering halls covered in Old Masters, iconic moderns and personal favorites.  The opportunity to see one of Monet’s massive Water Lilies series, one of my favorite Picassos (Life, from his blue period), and numerous paintings from the Hudson Valley school (including one of my favorites, Albert Bierstadt’s Yosemite Valley) in person was a real treat.  Throw in major works by Thomas Gainsborough, Paul Gaugin, Auguste Rodin and many others and it was more than I could realistically have hoped for.  Even if you don’t share my zeal for art it really is a must see if you’re in the area and you are doing yourself a disservice not to take it in.  Hopefully I’ll still have a good reason to be hanging around Cleveland long enough to see it once the current building project they have under way is completed, because it really looks like it is going to be something when it is finished.  Anyway, I think I’m going to call that good for now so I can go pack for the upcoming road trip.  Until next time.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

