Up and down

Hello again and thanks for tuning in.  Since last report my teammates and I have gone 3-4, sandwiching a three game losing streak between two road wins and our first home victory of the season.  At present we stand at 6-5, which is perfectly respectable but obviously we’d rather not do things like lose three straight home games or lose leads late on the road so there is still some work to be done.  From a personal perspective it has been both a very good week and a so-frustrating-I-want-to-pull-out-the-hair-I-don’t-have kind of week.  I feel like I have thrown the ball very well every time out so far this year but unfortunately I had one of those outings last week where guys just keep hitting groundballs through the infield or to somebody with no play to be made, but that is how it shakes out sometimes.  Unfortunately the life of a bullpen pitcher is such that when you have a blow-up outing like that it takes seemingly forever to dig your way out of it because you throw so many fewer innings than a starter.  The good news is that I have been throwing a lot, as I’ve already appeared in six games, so if that trend continues I should be right back on track in no time.  Away from the field there is not much to report from the past week.  We’ve had three or four day games which makes it hard to get out and do anything and I haven’t really had the drive to do much anyhow.  Hopefully I’ll have something a little more scintillating for you next time, but until then I’ll leave you with a poem and wish you happy trails.

 

Inheritance

by Daniel Johnson

 

We drank hard water.

Spoke in plain language.

 

Said what we didn’t

 

with a joke or a look.

One went missing–

 

let silence drill its hole.

A second fell ill.

 

We cloaked our mirrors.

Slashed a red X

 

on the door to our house.

Pass over us, I asked

 

the raven sky,

or burn in me

 

a second mouth.

Leave a Reply

