I’m on my way, don’t know where I’m going

Hello again.  Since I last signed on my teammates and I with the Midland RockHounds have managed to win our first round playoff series against the Frisco Roughriders and are on to the Texas League finals.  We split the first two games of the series at Frisco and then came home to record two consecutive wins and punch our ticket to the next and final round.  I threw well personally and our team seemed to continually come up with the timely hit or pitch necessary to pick up the win, so it is very satisfying to not only win in a team effort but also to have contributed to it.  The unfortunate thing about having won in four games is that we now have two days off before our next game, which would normally be a great thing but at this point of the season we all want to play and push the season to its final conclusion.  Also, we still don’t know who we are playing, despite the fact that we are leaving to drive to Springfield, MO in 20 minutes.  Just driving to Springfield and we’ll make the adjustment if necessary tomorrow based on who wins the series between Springfield and Northwest Arkansas.  I hate to be extremely brief, but in light of having to catch the aforementioned bus I will call that good for now and leave you with a poem.

 

America

by Walt Whitman

 

Centre of equal daughters, equal sons,

All, all alike endear’d, grown, ungrown, young or old,

Strong, ample, fair, enduring, capable, rich,

Perennial with the Earth, with Freedom, Law and Love,

A grand, sane, towering, seated Mother,

Chair’d in the adamant of Time.

2 comments

  1. contractyear

    Congratulations to you and the rockhounds! Best of luck tomorrow in the finals. We’re rooting for you.

    Bee Hylinski
    Author: “Contract Year, A Baseball Novel.” to be published soon

  2. engtribe48

    I stumbled upon your blog while on the Cleveland Indians site. Apparently they didn’t realize that you had been traded, because you still have a link under MLBlogs on the Tribe’s homepage. Anyways, congrats on your series win, and I hope you all did well in the finals.

Leave a comment